Mistborn Hero of the Ages part one by Ben Weber

It has been a while since I have posted on the blog, this being because there was no time to type it up. It is not that I have not been reading, but I have just not been writing words. So for the second independent reading book I chose the sequel to the first book I posted about. This new book is Mistborn The Hero of Ages by Brandon Sanderson. The book is based on the same characters as the last book, just now there is a ultimate power released and the world is about to end. Yada yada yada stuff like that. With all of this going on the tone of this book should really be dark and depressing. Cough cough like Barton’s posts cough. Though Sanderson does a writing technique that not only lightens the mood, but also gets the reader to laugh. This technique is humor.

As the readers of the blog you may be thinking “How is Sanderson going to slip in humor into a book about the world ending”. Well it is quite easy, because this isn’t your normal everyday chicken crossing the road humor. This is dark and dry humor the type of humor that if you’re not looking for it you’re going to miss the joke. For example, the scenario is the major kingdoms in the land are meeting together to talk about how their people aren’t going to starve. Normally in this situation I would feel very nervous about the outcome this is until this was said, “[Breeze] sat with Allrianne as far away from Cett as the tent would allow. Cett still had a habit of throwing things at Breeze: insults, for the most part, and occasionally knifes.” (Sanderson 106). When I first read this I skipped the fact that this was said. Then, since this was at the top of the page, when I got to the bottom of the page I realized what was said. This broke the tension with what was happening in the scene, but brought to life the funny quirks in the people in the room.

Another example of this is when Elend, Vin’s husband, and Vin are talking about the past and Elend says,”’Oh, come on. You have to admit that you’re unusual Vin. You’re like some strange mixture of a noblewoman, a street urchin, and a cat. Plus, you’ve managed — in our short three years together — to kill not only my god, but my father, my brother, and my fiancee. That’s kind of like a homicidal hat trick.’” (Sanderson 239). This scenario was not in a depressing mode, and was more blatantly obvious, but was still one of Sanderson’s style of jokes. Dan Michtom who is the person who suggested the book series to me showed this to me while I was reading the first book. Even though I did not understand the context I still enjoyed the joke and I’m sure you did too. All of Sanderson’s jokes are relatable, and that is why I think they loosen the mood so easily. Well I mean I hope that no one has killed their husbands god, fiancee, father, and brother, but you get that him telling her that she is a cat and odd is relatable.  In a world where large behemoths and slaughter are on many pages something that is close to home like a hat trick or insults make the world more relatable. When reading you are in a state of enjoyment this enjoyment and transfers over to the novel.

So going after Barton’s blog posts I finally wrote about the depressing parts of a world dieing. Well in my own way. Instead of talking about the depressing topics I talked about how the book dealt with the depressing topics. So far the book is really enjoyable, though long. I am excited to start the second half, and look forward to writing about it, and I have to encourage you once again to read Sanderson book even with its dark humor.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Mistborn Hero of the Ages part one by Ben Weber

  1. benweber55713

    Mistborn Hero of the Ages part 2

    (Attention: Post holds major spoilers don’t read if you want to read this trilogy!)

    While I was thinking about what to write for this blog post I started kicking myself. My first post was about the surprises that Sanderson shows and that would have been perfect for this blog post with this being the ending and all, but no I had to already use that. Now I am stuck talking about the character development that Sanderson implements which would have been better in the beginning. Character development is not all that I’m going to talk about, but it is almost all of the blog. I’m adding in how Sanderson ends his trilogy, but first character development.

    Even though character development is usually in the beginning of a novel Sanderson was still developing his characters until the very end. There are two great representations of this Elend and Sazed. Sazed (either pronounces saze-d or saz-ed I am not sure) is a very reserved character that was introduced in the first book as a servant to a man named Kelsier. Sazed though is a feruchemist which among other things allows for photographic memory which makes him an excellent scholar. Sazed as a scholar studied pre ascension (before the tyrant took over) religions that were crushed due to him. He has an account of over two hundred religions in his copper minds (memory storage). Through this rollercoaster of a novel Sazed was having trouble internally with what he was due to of his area of expertise. He looks back through his religions and determines that all had plot holes and could not be proven. I felt very depressed for Sazed because I have felt the same was as he has. This is really how he makes his character relatable and not character development so moving on. His crisis enlarges until near the end of the book (within 50 pages of the end) where he realizes that he was trying to find a religion with no faith and finally accepts that a religion does not have to be true. He then chooses a religion for himself. Though many authors have internal struggles of their characters throughout their novels Sanderson does an exceptional job at it. This is not just minor decision, but changes how the reader looks at Sazed as a person. This character development takes masterful skill that Sanderson has.

    Now you may be wondering, “So which religion did he chose, you said that he choose a religion for himself. What is it?”. Well the answer to that question is long and difficult as many things are in good books, and here is your answer dear reader. To simplify things I am just going to say that there are two forces Ruin and Preservation and let’s just say they both died and now Sazed is next to both of their bodies. Then when Sazed walks up he gains both of their powers and becomes god. Ya ironic isn’t it, the person that had trouble with religious devotion became a god. This ties into how well Sanderson ends his novels. He left you with no doubts about Sazed, with his troubles and worries. I now don’t have to visit a wiki page on him or anything else, and this to me shows a great author.

    Elend on the other hand did not have as great as an ending as Sazed. It is not that Sanderson did not do a good job, but that Elend’s ending is not as glorious as becoming a god. That’s because he dies. Yep that right the main character’s husband dies, and get this it doesn’t end there the main character dies as well. When I first read this I was stunned, literally put down the book, walked away, and didn’t finish until thirty minutes later. This ending came as a surprise, but was not unexpected I just hadn’t put the pieces together. It may be viewed as a way to end the novel fast. I disagree. This showed the devotion to the cause and too each other that Vin and Elend showed. They are then honored for their bravery and it is sort of a happy ending. Before that happened, though, Elend went through some serious character development. Here is a quote from Elend himself to show this development; “‘I’m an amalgamation of what I’ve needed to be. Part scholar, part rebel, part nobleman, part Mistborn, and part soldier. Sometimes, I don’t even know myself. I had a devil of a time getting all those pieces to work together’” (615). Elend, as can be seen, had a terrible time with his identity which affected his relation to the everyday world. This development of who he was emerged maybe thirty pages before his death. It takes serious devotion to have characters developing all through a trilogy, and my respect for Sanderson has certainly risen.

    The end of this novel though many of my personal favorite characters absent, showed Sanderson’s skill. His ability to tie all the lose ends that I could think of into an end takes skill and mastery. There was so many people and so many different back stories to connect, I couldn’t have figured it out. Granted he did kill off half of them, but it still does not take away from his skill. My final rating of Mistborn The Hero of the Ages by Brandon Sanderson is an 8/10. This is due to the fact that the death of so many though effective bugged me. I felt as though there was a better way to end the trilogy without killing the main character. Another reason for my rating is this book felt very long, whether it be because of the topic switch or once again the death I am not sure, but it took me a long time to get through to the end. Besides this it was a enjoyable conclusion to the mistborn trilogy and one I hope all of you as readers read.

Leave a Reply

