The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas 9/10

In reading The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas, I have witnessed a story that changed how I see life in general. It is a story of a young man who gets thrown into prison unjustly , and his escape as well as the revenge that follows. To describe any more in depth the plot of the book would give away more spoliers than I can count, so I am going to stick to speaking of the main genres that were enlisted in this novels creation. There is a copious amount of romance, which appeals to me, but there is also a lot of disappointment that comes with that love. Suspense is a strong point of the novel, one that was noticeably crafted with more than simply delicate care. Had it not been such a challenging read, one deserving of the name of classic, it is a novel that could, and I believe would, entertain the average teen reader. However, the novels challenging state is still present, so I would advise caution to those who do not find patience comes easily to them, to prehaphs put off the reading of The Count of Monte Cristo.

What intrigued me most about this novel was that it challenged my views on life. Before reading this, I had unconsciously formed a very black and white idea about the concepts, and to a certain extent, the rules of life. I had thought that there would only be one possible outcome in any situation presented despite different variables that may have been playing an ever present role in the story. I believed that bad was bad and good was good but this novel made me think and reconsider what it means to be good and bad and even ponder what rewards really are.

I would suggest this novel to any avid readers that are patient and enjoy being challenged to a great extent. Any future philosophers could also potentially have a very fun time with this novel, as would really anyone who enjoys a good story. This novel is brilliant in many different ways and I could rant about how much I loved it for hours, but as I mentioned before, it is a spoiler heavy plot. I would suggest that when you feel you are ready to enjoy such a classic novel, to pick this one up and give it a try.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

